Welcome Notice

Hello and welcome to Molineux Mix a forum for Wolves fans by Wolves fans.

Register Log in

Karl Henry on Refs

BlahBlah

Just doesn't shut up
Reaction score
I’ve been coaching grassroots football in Birmingham for the past 3 years. Let me tell you, the level of officiating is disgusting. In my experience, 80% of grassroots refs are power hungry do-gooders who are either intent on showing everybody who the boss is for 90 mins or are completely incompetent and unfit for the job.

5. Remove unofficial linesmen from grassroots football and let referees make the call to the best of their ability. This will stop arguments and fighting between teams as 99.9% of parent/coach linesmen in grassroots football are cheating scoundrels. Everybody knows it and everybody does it (apart from ours of course ).

Discuss......

Flump

Just doesn't shut up
Reaction score
Ridiculous, logically incoherent drivel.

The criteria needs to be higher at grassroots level? Great, now there's no refs at all instead of mediocre refs.

He says he wants to move away from the old boys club, but his suggestion is the involvement of more ex footballers? Can he not join two thoughts together in his head?

Grassroots refereeing is a completely different issue from PL refereeing (and VAR especially, obviously). Why has he mentioned it? Presumably the same reason FA reports love to mention it, to sound thoughtful, and because it's easier to talk about that with meaningless jargon than coming up with real solutions to the actual problem.

Last edited:

Sussex Wolf

Just doesn't shut up
Reaction score
Don’t agree with his point 5 but there is much to support in the rest of it. Worth reading the thread on X before commenting rather than just going on the OP extract.

WolvesAndCows

Has a lot to say
Reaction score
Getting rid of linesmen would just hurl more abuse at referees. The people running the line when I was playing were pretty honest.

Jefe

Just doesn't shut up
Reaction score