Welcome Notice

Hello and welcome to Molineux Mix a forum for Wolves fans by Wolves fans.

Register Log in

If not Lage, then who....

North West Wanderer

Just doesn't shut up
Reaction score
Appreciate this may get a few backs up and be deemed disrespectful, but hey ho.

I'm normally all for giving managers time, but in some cases - like Solbakken and Lage I don't get great feelings - indeed both arguably have lost the dressing room.

If not Lage, who else is there out there? I don't want to chop and change managers / coaches every year, but if the manager isn't right.........

marrs-guitar

Just doesn't shut up
Reaction score
Anybody who will set us up to attack and score a few goals
The problem is we keep recruiting players with poor goalscoring records. Any coach will struggle to overcome that simple fact, and will in light of this probably inevitably prioritise keeping the ball out at the other end.

I have no knowledge of the Portuguese league, so I cannot comment on likely Lage replacements, as I expect we would inevitably simply call upon Mendes to give us the next cab off the rank, rather than genuinely cast our net around.

Maybe Lage himself could eventually get Wolves to score goals regularly, but not with the players at his disposal.

Mile End Wanderer

Just doesn't shut up
Reaction score
Lage can get us to attack but not with this squad so overhaul needed

Players have downed tools, that says a lot about them. If it means we cash in on those who aren’t committed so be it. Our FFP and accounts will be great. Build on what kids we have that are ready and start again.

If not Lage then who good question!!

Low, Klinsmann, Lucien Favre, Bielsa, Dyche, Jorge Jesus, Fonseca, Albert Celades, Big Sam, McCarthy??

Not a great choice really. If we want attacking football you have to maybe look at Steve Cooper or Thomas Frank but these managers will want backing. Cheap option Dyche or Mick but that’s playing for 17th every season again. Huge risk to take now